Organization: Governance, Staff and Tax Status

The Chatham Historical Society, a membership corporation under Massachusetts laws, is governed by an Executive Board of five officers (Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, President of the Operating Board) and a maximum of 12 trustees.  Officers are elected annually by the membership, except the President who is appointed annually by the Executive Board. Trustees serve four-year terms on a rotating basis. This board is responsible for the financial stability of the society, for setting general policy, for appointing the members of the Operating Board and members of the Board of Overseers.

Under the President, the Operating Board is responsible for implementing the policies set by the Executive Board and for conducting the day-to-day business of the society and of its Atwood House & Museum.

The Chatham Historical Society, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. Gifts to the society are deductible as provided in federal income tax regulations and as provided in the laws and regulations of some states.


Board Members

Virginia T. Nickerson

Vice Chair
Stuart D. Green

Linda A. Cebula

Stephanie A. Bartlett


Stephen J. Burlingame
Richard H. Evans
Nick Harris
Steven Nickerson
Angie B. Simonds
Don St. Pierre
Ann K. Vick-Westgate
Craig S. Vokey
Tim Weller


Executive Director

Danielle R. Jeanloz

Assistant Director

Kevin D. Wright


Margaret Martin
Lynn Van Dine


Jean Young
Mary Ann Gray

Buildings & Grounds Chair

Don St. Pierre

Costumes & Textiles Chair

Janet Marjollet

Museum Shop Manager

Gaylene Heppe

Book Store Buyers

Florence Seldin – Adult
Barbara Semple – Children

Technology Chair

Robert Ralls

Charts Curator
Bill Horrocks

Lecture Series

Carol Pacun


Rob Bergh
Richard W. Costello
Stephen S. Daniel
Spencer Y. Grey
William G. Litchfield
Janet Marjollet
Barbara Matteson
Cynthia B. McCue
Walter J. Meier
Joshua A. Nickerson, Jr.
David R. Oakley
Winifred Portenoy
Christopher L. Rhinesmith
John L. Whelan