Experience Chatham through the eyes of the Atwood Museum!

Originally built in the 1750s by Joseph Atwood, a Chatham Sea Captain, the “Old House” was occupied for five generations until purchased by the Chatham Historical Society in 1925.

Today, the greatly expanded and updated Atwood Museum is a vibrant institution showcasing twelve galleries in several buildings, special events, compelling local speakers, and rich, educational research opportunities for history enthusiasts.

Explore our grounds which include the Nickerson North Beach Camp built in 1947, an 18th century Herb Garden, planted and maintained by the Chatham Garden Club, Meneely Bells originally from the Community Center building, and a working Fresnel lantern from one of the historic Chatham Twin Lights.

Enjoy shopping at the Atwood Museum Shop offering a variety of unusual gifts, locally crafted products, and books from the region for all ages.